Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Revisiting The 5 Love Languages

As Oprah would say, the one thing I know for sure is this: you can not live an authentic life without providing yourself with the tools that can help you love better, live on purpose better, get a better vision for your life, help you figure out how to experience your purpose and serve others in this world, etc.

This blog is ALL about informing, engaging and making you think about what it means to live an authentic life.  Today I found out that you can take the "The 5 Love Languages" test for free!  (See below for the link to take the test)

This post is inspired to provide you with a tool that can help you identify your love language (what you need to feel loved and establish a true connection) and please forward and share this with your spouse, children, girlfriends and other loved ones who you care about so that you both can speak each others' love language!  Relationships and connection are one of our most genuine, human needs and knowing the "The 5 Love Languages" will reaffirm your awareness of your own need and the need(s) of those you most care about...

What is the "5 Love Languages"?
The 5 Love Languages® profile will give you a thorough analysis of your emotional communication preference. It will single out your primary love language, what it means, and how you can use it to connect and deepen your relationships with others.

Five languages:

This language uses words to affirm other people.

For these people, actions speak louder than words.

For some people, what makes them feel most loved is to receive a gift.

This language is all about giving the other person your undivided attention.

 To this person, nothing speaks more deeply than appropriate touch.

* All icons of the five languages are courtesy of the "The 5 Love Languages" organization.

Why the "The 5 Love Languages" (from the creator)?
"I believe that our deepest emotional need is the need to feel loved. If we are married, the person we would most like to love us is our spouse. If we feel loved by our spouse, the whole world is bright and life is wonderful. On the other hand, if we feel rejected or ignored, the world begins to look dark.

When couples read "The 5 Love Languages", they discover why they lost the romantic feelings of courtship and how emotional love can be rekindled in their relationship. Once they begin speaking each other’s primary love language, they are surprised to see how quickly their emotions turn positive. With a full love tank, they can now process their conflicts in a much more positive manner and find solutions that are workable. The rebirth of emotional love creates a positive emotional climate between the two of them and they learn to work together as a team—encouraging, supporting, and helping each other reach meaningful goals.

And it's not just for married couples. There's a book for singles too...It’s entitled "The 5 Love Languages Singles Edition". In the book, I seek to help single adults apply the love language concept in all their relationships. I begin by helping them understand why they felt love or did not feel love growing up as a child. 

I also help singles apply the love language concept in their sibling relationships, work relationships, and dating relationships. I have been so encouraged by the response of single adults. I hope that if you are single, you will discover what others have discovered. Expressing love in a person’s primary love language enhances all relationships."

What is the Test?
You will now see 30 paired statements. Please select the statement that best defines what is most meaningful to you in your relationships with others. Both statements may or may not sound like they fit your situation, but please choose the statement that captures the essence of what is (or would be) most meaningful to you, the majority of the time. Allow 10 to 15 minutes to complete the profile. Take it when you are relaxed, and try not to rush through it.

Here's to believing that you get all the love you deserve, all the love you desire and extend all the love you get to others (I call this grace)...

Note: Curva-Lish has an affiliate partnership with Amazon.com and purchases made through the links to the book results in Curva-Lish earning a small commission used to operate this website.  Thanks for your support!

No comments:

Post a Comment